Lorenzo makes things

Day 7: Favorite Word.

Posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Drawings, Non-Commercial, Typography by Lorenzo on March 14, 2012

Copyright 2012, Lorenzo De Waele

I had a very busy day today working on my personal website (which will be online soon I hope!), so this one’s relatively simple. Day 7 is “draw your favorite word” so I just did so, literally.

Why serendipity? Well, I had no idea what my favorite word was but this one, again, came to mind immediately so… The meaning of this word comes down to a lucky coincidence, a happy accident. I think I first saw it in reference to Elliott Smith, taped on photographer Autumn De Wilde’s wall (whic is why these are the letters I decided to draw). Smith, a musician I’ve literally obsessed over years ago (and still love) would also write this word on his arms sometimes.

It’s a beautiful word to me because it makes me think of one of my favorite musicians, of poetic expression, and of the one thing life is really made out of: accidents. Which can sometimes be happy ones. Plus, the word sort of sounds like “serene” too, which is a pretty good state of mind to be in.

I drew this word rather small on a sheet of paper in ink. Scanned it at high res so you can really see the little accidents and scratches. Also, you know what? I don’t draw typography often enough. I really grew to appreciate these letters and theirs shapes as I drew them. Try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

