Lorenzo makes things

Day 11: Turning Point In Your Life.

Posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Drawings, Non-Commercial by Lorenzo on March 18, 2012

Copyright 2012, Lorenzo De Waele

This is probably the first drawing in these series that really felt very personal and almost painful to draw.

I’ve always had notions that life should be enjoyed the way you think is best, not to let other people, beliefs or society limit you in certain ways. However, one day this notion became a lot more serious.

My parents asked me to travel with them to the island Crete, I believe this was in the summer of 2009. So I went with them because had I always wanted to see that island, and my parents are pretty good at traveling (renting a car and exploring on our own for example).

Crete was gorgeous. One night we were heading out and my parents started chatting with a lady at a table in the hotel restaurant. She was a French woman and, as the conversation went from trivialities to deeper matters, she mentioned to be terminally ill from cancer.

At one point as we were talking I felt that she looked right at me and told me “Tu dois vivre comme tu veux”; you have to live the way you want.

What really got to me was the urgency in this, something I remember very clearly. She felt that was the one important lesson she learned in life after being diagnosed with her illness. Not to care about what people want you to do, but to obey your own wishes. And because of whatever reasons in my life and at that moment, this statement really got to me.

This encounter, I believe, has been a major factor in my life since.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gerlin said, on March 19, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Love this! Mooie tekening en mooi verhaal erachter.


Leave a Reply

