Lorenzo makes things

Day 24: A Couple.

Posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Drawings, Non-Commercial by Lorenzo on March 31, 2012

Copyright 2012, Lorenzo De Waele

My initial reaction to this assignment was “oh god why” but I soon found a pretty badass couple to draw. I decided on these two amazing characters: Dana Scully and Fox Mulder. I don’t think I have to explain why these two are fantastic.

Style-wise I obviously based this on two photos I found, not drawn from memory. Using pencil to accurately try and mimic the way someone looks on a photo is not something I do often. I’m not entirely convinced I drew them to look as recognizable as I had wanted them to, especially Mulder, but I’m still quite happy with the results. After all, as much as I strongly admire people who can draw to a photorealistic level, I’ve always really liked seeing little flaws, pencil strokes and unfinished areas, because I feel it gives you a closer connection to the person who drew it. So there you go!

Leave a Reply

