Lorenzo makes things

Day 27: Someone You Love.

Posted in 30 Day Drawing Challenge, Drawings, Non-Commercial by Lorenzo on April 3, 2012

Copyright 2012, Lorenzo De Waele

I was going to make a scan of a blank page and type “GET IT?!” in the description but I realized that wouldn’t be accurate. I love my friends and my family and animals and whatnot so I shouldn’t lie. However, there’s one person who did come to mind as a good subject for a drawing. I haven’t gotten around to drawing this person before, which is odd, because I’m a bit of a fan.

Lots of people over the years have started sending me links and photos of anything related to David Bowie. This was sort of a wake-up call for me because it made me realize that I had been getting a bit obsessed and people were starting to think “Lorenzo” when they saw Bowie. That’s never a good sign, but in the end I embraced it. What can I say, the guy’s a pretty big inspiration, made some great music, is very intelligent and creative, and despite being an addicted wreck during the ’70s managed to remain 100% classy and polite throughout his career, which is remarkable.

So here you go, my first drawing of David Bowie, as drawn from a photo of his performance on something called the 1980 Floor Show during the ’70s just before he explored soul music and changed his look entirely.

I drew him without eyes because I like to draw people without eyes. Also, I’m still exploring my new found fondness for pencil. Odd.

Leave a Reply

